One step closer

Happy New Year!


[Can I still say that?]

Winter Break has come and gone. Going back home was pretty standard fare. My family's Christmas Eve party featured relatives playing Maj, my cousins and me playing Words with Friends, and everybody enjoying traditional Chinese food. The highlight of Christmas Day was going to a performance by my mom's dance group at the Global Winter Wonderland in Santa Clara. After the festivities, my family and I went on our annual ski trip to Reno. In addition to skiing, we enjoyed a performance of ZzyZyx (no, that's not a typo), bowling, and a screening of the movie Moneyball. Plus, I won $50 at poker! The other exciting venture during break was going to the Fiesta Bowl with the Stanford Marching Band. Although it was a heartbreaking 38-41 OT loss to Oklahoma State, the trip was a great time reconnecting with old friends and reliving the days of Rocking the F*** Out™.


[Hitting the slopes in Reno!]

The most exciting piece of news, though, happened before Winter Break even started: I matched into the Air Force psychiatry residency program in Dayton, Ohio! I'm very excited to be staying within driving distance of many close friends in Ann Arbor, and the program itself offered a good balance of psychotherapy and psychopharmacology training. Once the snow clears up in the spring, I'll have to start looking for housing. In terms of the rest of the year, I'm looking forward to my fourth month of vacation as well as my remaining rotations (Hospice/Palliative Care, ID Consults, Clinical Anesthesiology), with graduation in May! Time passes by much too quickly.