La Ceiba mission: Day 5

Today's morning run was probably the most humid this week. After returning to the hotel, showering, and coming down to breakfast, we found out why: there was a torrential downpour, the first time it has rained on this trip that repeat participants could remember.

[Photo 1: raindrops falling to the ground.]

Fortunately, the weather cleared up by the end of breakfast, and we were off to start the day.

And what a day it was! I started the day learning how to do a tonsillectomy, and then took out a tonsil all by myself. The surgeon I was working with, Dr. Fung, said he was impressed that it took me all of two minutes. He commented something along the lines of "Good hands for a future psychiatrist."

[Photo 2: the fruits of my labor. I think the tonsil I took out is the one at the top of the photo.]

Literally right after the tonsils were removed, we were informed that our OR needed to be used for a C-section! We turned over the room as quickly as possible. Members of our team were drafted to assist with anesthesia and with the surgery itself.

[Photo 3: crib, ready for the newborn.]

[Photo 4: Dr. Fung (left), first assist on the C-section with the Honduran Ob/Gyn.]

[Photo 5: ¡hola!]

[Photo 6: yes, turns out pediatricians do the same newborn exam in Honduras.]

[Photo 7: a coy smile from our youngest patient.]

[Photo 8: new Facebook photo. Count it.]

After that bit of excitement, I took part in a thyroid resection and septoplasty.

[Photo 9: a thyroid.]

Overall, it was quite a satisfying day. Tomorrow, I'll be in pre-op starting IVs, and then spending the night on call.